Not-so-spaghetti-and-meatballs

Broccoli meatballs and spaghetti squash - Version 2Spaghetti and meatballs. Except there was no spaghetti – or meat. That is what we had for dinner tonight!

Being in an Italian family, I’m sure there are a lot of doubters! Growing up, my family used to think I was crazy because I didn’t like red sauce on my pasta. Nope, just plain noodles with butter and Parmesan for this girl. Well now I actually do love red sauce, but I wanted to try it with a healthier, more vegetable-filled dish!

I know it has been a while since I posted. I have been very busy finishing up final exams for my LAST semester of undergrad and moving to Richmond, VA! Throw in packing up my apartment, my friend visiting from Chicago, and surprising my mom for her birthday, and you can see why I haven’t had time lately to cook anything worth sharing about. Tonight; however, I made an exciting dinner for Jesse and I! I wanted something with only a few ingredients and that wouldn’t make a ton of leftovers since we are going to Knoxville this weekend for graduation. I know Jesse loves spaghetti squash with marinara sauce, which we haven’t had in a while. Not to mention it’s so easy – so spaghetti squash it was! I wanted to add something a little heartier to the dish to give it more protein and make it filling. I went on searching for meatballs that didn’t involve any meat. I thought about lentils, but knew Jesse wouldn’t eat more than a bite (I still want to give those a try sometime! You never know!). Then I came across something I had not thought of, “meat”balls made out of broccoli, almonds, and Parmesan! Now THIS Jesse would devour and it sounded awesome to me, too.

I found the recipe here:

http://ohmyveggies.com/recipe-broccoli-parmesan-meatballs/

Long story short, the recipe involves pulsing almonds in the food processor (I LOVE my food processor!), doing the same with broccoli, adding Parmesan, spices, and an egg. You make little balls and bake them in the oven! Really easy!

For anyone wondering about how I prepared the spaghetti squash, I cut it lengthwise, put a little olive oil, salt, and pepper on each side, and baked it at 400 degrees for 40 minutes. After that, it shreds with a fork into “spaghetti.”

It was a yummy dinner and we have more “meat”balls in the freezer to have this dish again after we get back from our trip this weekend! Go vols!

One thought on “Not-so-spaghetti-and-meatballs

Leave a Reply

